Press "Enter" to skip to content


Visa-free travel means entering a country without the necessity of obtaining a visa beforehand. It offers a straightforward approach to visiting nations without the complexities of visa procedures, as well as saving on visa fees. Some governments have agreements with India, which enables Indian citizens to travel to their countries without undergoing lengthy visa processes.

Under regular visa-free travel, one can freely visit countries with just a passport. Typically, clearing customs in most visa-free nations requires only your passport, although some may request additional documents like proof of onward travel. And the latest countries that have joined the list of offering visa-free access to Indian travellers are as follows:


Starting from February 4, Iran declared the exemption of visa requirements for holders of Indian passports, with the objective of fostering tourism and luring more and more tourists into the country. This initiative underscores Iran’s dedication to promoting global engagement. Those with regular passports can enter the country without a visa every six months, enjoying a maximum stay of 15 days. It’s crucial to note that this 15-day duration is non-extendable.


Effective from December 1, 2023, tourists hailing from India and China can now enjoy visa-free entry into Malaysia, and will be allowed to stay in the country for up to 30 days. Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim, while announcing this development, stressed that the exemption would be subject to thorough security screening. He added, “Initial screenings will be conducted for all tourists and visitors to Malaysia. Security is a different matter. If there are criminal records or the risk of terrorism, they will not be allowed to enter.”


Kenya became visa-free for Indian citizens from January 1. Kenya in fact eliminated visa requirements for all global visitors, a measure that is expected to boost the nation’s vital tourism sector. This initiative aims to provide visitors with a seamless travel experience to partake in wildlife safaris and beach vacations. With regard to this, President William Ruto expressed, “It is no longer necessary for anyone from any corner of the globe to bear the burden of applying for a visa to come to Kenya.”


Earlier, the Thai government brought cheer to Indian travellers by declaring that, starting from November 10, 2023, to May 10, 2024, those holding Indian passports will not require a tourist visa for entry into Thailand. Thai authorities implemented a temporary visa exemption, allowing a 30-day stay for tourism purposes.


As reported earlier, this year, Vietnam announced that it is all set to grant visa-free entry to Indians and Chinese nationals. This move comes in the wake of boosting tourism in the country. Currently, specific European citizens benefit from visa-free entry, while others have the option to obtain e-visas with a validity of 90 days and multiple entry allowances.

Sri Lanka

In a recent development, the Ministry of Tourism in Sri Lanka announced that visitors from seven countries, namely India, Russia, China, Japan, Malaysia, Indonesia, and Thailand, will be granted access to the country without the need for a visa. If reports are to go by, this is a pilot project, which will remain in place until March 31, 2024.